Dipping Our Toes in the GF Water

Standard

Oh my, am I overwhelmed!  We’ve been toying with the idea of GFCF (Gluten Free, Casein Free) for a while.  We have pretty much determined that we don’t think a casein/dairy elimination would make a huge difference, but that the GF would be easier to try out first.  

“Easy” obviously needed to be in quotes.  I started by making a list of all the items my son actually does eat that contain gluten.  Next, I started some light researching to see if I could find substitutes for all of those favorite things.  So far, I haven’t found good subs for all of them, which makes me a tad nervous.

I found GF food lists online for stores like Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods, and thought I should actually set foot in those stores to see what’s what.  Holy smokes!  This is going to be a crazy expensive transition.  I definitely need to search out more and even check our “regular” stores since so many do offer specialty items now.  But for the meantime, I grabbed a few things to have the kids test out.  We’ll see how it all goes!

Leave a Reply

